The University's encryption policy applies to all devices connecting to Exchange email via ActiveSync. When the device is encrypted, a PIN will be required both to boot the device and to unlock it. Encryption is permanent. Once a device is encrypted, only a full device wipe will remove the encryption from the file system.
iPhone users running iOS 5 or higher will need to create a PIN to unlock the device. If a PIN has already been created, no changes will be seen.
Windows Phone users running Windows Phone 8 or higher will also need to create a PIN to unlock the device. If a PIN has already been created, no changes will be seen.
Android users accessing their Rowan Exchange Email on their phone or tablet running Android 3.0 or higher will get a prompt to accept the encryption policy and should follow the steps below.
Encrypting your Android device
You will receive a notification that there is an update to your device security settings from Exchange. Notifications may vary depending on the specific model or version of the Android device.
You will need to confirm the security update. If you do not update your security settings, you will no longer be able to access your Rowan Exchange email on your device.
NOTE: After confirming the security settings, some Android devices may require you to create a four-digit PIN before encrypting the device.
Plug your phone/tablet into a power source. It will not allow the Encrypt button to appear until it is plugged in and charged to at least 80 percent.
NOTE: The encryption process may take up to an hour to complete and may possibly reboot your device several times.
Confirm encryption request by clicking "Encrypt Device."
If you have not created a PIN, you'll be asked to create a four-digit PIN. Enter a PIN and click "Continue." DO NOT forget this pin or your phone will have to be wiped and you will lose all of your data.
Click "Encrypt Device" again and this screen will appear. While encryption is ongoing, do not use or play with your device. If you interrupt the encryption process, you could lose all or part of your data permanently.
When the encryption process is complete, your device will reboot a final time. It will not boot fully until you enter your PIN.